Akua Demo at Elmonodelatinta in Madrid

door

On June 10, 2015, I gave two Akua demos at Elmonodelatina printmaking studio in Madrid.  Elmonodelatina, Spanish for Ink Monkey, is directed by Míriam Cantera and Maria Gambín, who founded the studio in 2003. 

With Maria Gambín and Míriam Cantera.

With Maria Gambín and Míriam Cantera.

Elmonodelatinta offers editioning services, printing facilities and workshops.  It is located in the La Latina neighborhood, the oldest and one of the most picturesque areas of Madrid.

Morning group of artists.

Morning group.

I met one group of artists in the morning and another in the afternoon.  Most of them were experienced printmakers, some were students and there was an art supply store owner as well.  Everyone was curious about Akua water-based, fume-free printing inks and the Akua portable hand-held Pin Press.

pinpress

I showed how to make a monotype on PETG plastic and print with the Pin Press.  I demonstrated various methods of manipulating the ink on the plate, such as wiping, stenciling, stamping and brushwork.  I  showed how to use Akua modifiers such as Transparent Base, Blending Medium and Release Agent. The artists were drawn to this freer approach to printmaking.  The Pin Press was a definite crowd pleaser.

press

Everyone wanted to know where they could buy Akua products.  Kelley Balfe, marketing manager at Speedball, had informed me that Totenart in Valencia, Spain, carries Akua and that Polymetaal, in the Netherlands, has the complete line of Akua products.  Many of the artists order printmaking supplies from Totenart and were pleased to know that they carry Akua.

group two

I showed my monotypes and collagraphs, printed with Akua.  The artists were impressed with the printed quality of the works.  They remarked the vivid pigmentation as well as the play of transparency in my multi-layered work.  The subtle iridescent gold and silver effects also caught their eye.

Afternoon group of artists.

Afternoon group.

For my afternoon group I invited Yayo, award-winning cartoonist and  illustrator, to assist my demo.  On one plate he painted a monkey, on another I created a background.  After combining both plates to print a monotype, I applied Akua Release Agent over Yayo’s monkey plate, and printed a ghost impression, a second lighter print. 

Ghost impression of a monotype by Yayo.

Ghost impression of a monotype by Yayo.

To the delight of Míriam and Maria, he offered the prints to Elmonodelatinta for their monkey collection.

monkies


It was a true pleasure to demo Akua at Elmonodelatinta.  I enjoyed teaching in Spanish and meeting the Madrileño artists.  The language of printmaking is universal and the transmission of new techniques and approaches provides fertile ground for exchange and connection between artists.  

Talleen Hacikyan

Muchas gracias a Míriam y Maria por la acogida. 

Leave a comment